Academia Sinica
Keyboard shortcuts
Change font size: + -


Academia Sinica

Academia Sinica

An Agreement of Scientific Cooperation was signed with Academia Sinica in 1994 and since then a number of bi-national workshops have been held.

In March 2007, a Taiwan-Israel Binational Meeting was held in Jerusalem on “Dynamics on Many Length (and Time) Scales: From Elementary Chemical Processes to Nano and Surface Functionalities.” The Taiwanese delegation was led by Nobel laureate and president emeritus, of Academia Sinica, Prof. Yuan T. Lee, and included former Minister of Science Maw-Kuen Wu and president of Academia Sinica Chi-Huey Wong. Welcoming remarks were given by Academy member Prof. Raphael D. Levine, and keynote lecture was delivered by former Israel Academy president, Prof. Joshua Jortner.

In December 2013, then president of the Academy, Professor Ruth Arnon, represented the Israel Academy at the first Israel-Taiwan bi-national conference in the Life Sciences organized by Tsinghua University.

The second bilateral conference, “From Basic to Transitional Research in Life Sciences,” was convened in June 2015 at Tel Aviv University. It featured keynote speakers Prof. Chi-Huey Wong, then-President of the Academia Sinica, Prof. Ruth Arnon, then-President, Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities, Nobel laureate and Academy Member and Prof. Aaron Ciechanover, and Nobel laureate and Academy Member Prof. Ada Yonath.

In November 2018, the vice president of the Academy, Prof. David Harel, participated in the “International Scientific Leaders Forum” in Taipei, marking the 90th anniversary of the National Academy of Science of Taiwan, the Academia Sinica.