Keyboard shortcuts
Change font size: + -

Postdoctoral Fellowships for Foreign Researchers in Israel

The Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities (IASH) Postdoctoral Fellowships aim to attract young, top-of-the line researchers from around the world to join Israel's research laboratories. Their participation is expected to leverage international collaboration, strengthen Israel's leading laboratories; further their own professional and personal ties with excellent researchers at the outset of their careers, and create fruitful collaboration for future research.
The Postdoctoral Fellowships program was launched in 2018 in response to a discussion initiated by The Israel Young Academy, led by Prof. Yonina Eldar, which pointed to the need to enhance and diversify the number of highly qualified postdoctoral students in Israel's research laboratories, particularly in the sciences and engineering. Developed by a steering committee headed by Prof. Itamar Willner, the program was inaugurated in 2018 under the supervision of a review and approval committee chaired by Prof. Moti Segev.
As of the third cycle of 2020-2021, the Academy awards two-year postdoctoral fellowships for the amount of 157,000.00 NIS (at the exchange rate of 3.45 NIS per USD) per year. The fellowships will be awarded to outstanding scholars in the fields of natural sciences, exact sciences, medicine, life sciences and engineering.
The IASH will fund half each fellowship per year. The recipient researcher will receive at least half of the fellowship in matching from the hosting university. The candidates must be foreign citizens (not Israelis) and no more than 4 years from receiving their doctorates at the time of their application.
The Academy's review and approval committee selects the recipients on the basis of scientific excellence. The awardees participate in a yearly meeting and social events organized by the Academy.
Following are the names of the winners of the first cycle of IASH Postdoctoral Fellowships for Foreign Researchers, for the 2020-2021 academic year:
Following are the names of the winners of the second cycle of IASH Postdoctoral Fellowships for Foreign Researchers, for the 2019-2020 academic year: 
  1. Dr. Masataka Watanabe, Physics | Host – Prof. Micha Berkooz, Weizmann Institute of Science
  2. Dr. Sarah Hassdenteufel, Molecular Genetics | Host – Prof. Maya Schuldiner, Weizmann Institute of Science
  3. Dr. Wei Cao, Chemistry | Host – Prof. Michael Urbakh, Tel Aviv University
  4. Dr. Chen Sun, Physics | Host – Prof. Tomer Volansky, Tel Aviv University
  5. Dr. Jing Zhang, Mathematics | Host – Prof. Assaf Rinot, Bar-Ilan University
  6. Dr. Ying Wang, Material Sciences, Electrochemistry | Host – Prof. Menny Shalom, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
  7. Dr. Yang Li, Chemistry | Host – Prof Sanford Ruhman, Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  8. Dr. Karamveer Kaur, Astrophysics | Host – Dr. Nicholas Stone, Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Following are the names of the winners of the first cycle of IASH Postdoctoral Fellowships for Foreign Researchers, for the 2018-2019 academic year:
  1. Dr. Giacomo Fragione, Astrophysics | Host - Prof. Re'em Sari, Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  2. Dr. Oleksii Matsedonsky, Theoretical Physics | Host -Prof. Gilad Perez, Weizmann Institute of Science
  3. Dr. Maria Iljina, Biophysics | Host - Prof. Gilad Haran, Weizmann Institute of Science
  4. Dr. Harry McClelland, Paleoclimate Science & Geobiology | Host - Dr. Itay Halevy, Weizmann Institute of Science
  5. Dr. Flora Vincent, Plant & Environmental Science | Host – Prof. Assaf Vardi, Weizmann Institute of Science
  6. Dr. Aude Bernheim, Molecular Genetics | Host – Prof. Rotem Sorek, Weizmann Institute of Science
  7. Dr. Liang Yue, Systems Chemistry | Host – Prof. Itamar Willner, Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  8. Dr. Afu Fu, Biomedical Engineering | Host - Prof. Aaron Ciechanover, Technion – Israel Institute of Technology 
For more information, contact Batsheva Shor at